2014 Chemistry Prize for Optical Physics Advance

William Moerner (Stanford), Stefan Hell (Max Planck Institute) and Eric Betzig (Howard Hughes Medical Institute) have won the 2014 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for “for the development of super-resolved fluorescence microscopy”.

Wow, physicists win the Chemistry Nobel Prize again! The last time this happened was scant 3 years ago when Dan Shechtman won the 2011 Chemistry Nobel for his discovery of quasicrystals.

Including the three physicists who won the Physics Prize yesterday, that’s six physicists who have become Laureates this year. And (not to rub it in) zero chemists.

Don’t worry chemists, you have a few more chances – provided a chemist picks up the Literature Nobel tomorrow, a Peace Prize Friday, or the Economics Prize on Monday. Good luck!

You may also read these articles